You are currently viewing Don’t Drink and Drive

Don’t Drink and Drive

Elite Rent a Car, We would like to help decrease the massive and entirely avoidable social and economic toll that DWI incidents place on Houston residents. We have started a campaign on our Social Networks.

Did You know?

Drivers who are operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. They are not only more likely to cause a car wreck but tend to be involved in more severe accidents.

DWI auto accidents often involve extreme speed by the impaired driver, and the increased speed can occur in more significant injuries. Including traumatic brain injuries (TBI), spinal cord injuries, severe internal organ damage, paralysis, and wrongful death.

A lot of drivers believe that they can drive safely after having a few drinks. This presumption has no foundation in fact, as alcohol slows response time and alters depth judgment, coordination, and determination.

Studies reveal that the risk of a driver being killed in a collision with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 is at least 11 times that of drivers without alcohol in their system.

Studies presume that a blood alcohol level as low as .02 affects one’s ability to drive and increases the likelihood of an accident.

Prevent Someone from Drinking and Driving

More than 68% of Americans state that they have tried to stop someone from driving after drinking. In 1998, America encountered its most moderate number of alcohol-related fatalities since the U.S. Department of Transportation started keeping records. 

Be a Designated Driver. If you and your friends intend to go out for the night, volunteer to be the designated driver. 

Plan Ahead, Pay for a Ride, Stay Determined, Let them Sleep Over, Get Help, and Stand Firm.

Texas Law

In Texas, your initial DWI conviction is a Class B Misdemeanor. Your second conviction is a Class A Misdemeanor, and your third conviction is considered a 3rd Degree Felony. You may be charged with a felony in Texas if your dive while intoxicated with a minor in your car.

After your first DWI offense in Texas, you may be penalized up to $2,000. Spend between three and 180 days in jail. And your license may be suspended for up to two years. There also may be an annual overcharge of as much as $2,000 to keep your license for three years.

Elite Rent a Car

We serve the Houston area with the best car rental alternative. Always providing our customers with well-maintained vehicles that are clean and safe.

At Elite Rent a Car, we understand that at times not having a vehicle can be a significant difficulty. Especially in the Houston area. Our rental service offers exceptionally competitive pricing. We have a wide variety of vehicle options to be sure to fit your needs. Our renting process has been simplified, offering you a much more lenient contract than our competition. All our vehicles are meticulously maintained. With Elite, we will put you on the road again.

Elite Rent a Car

2535 Blue Willow Dr, Houston, TX 77042
281-727-0338
713-227-3777

Hours of Operation

Monday – Friday 8:00 am to 6:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am to 2:00 pm

Book your car today!